Sunday, December 9, 2018

Quad on January 5th

Our next event is a quad at the La Farge library on January 5th.  Play 3 rounds G/60;d5.  Entrants in groups of 4 by ratings play a round robbin.  Entry is $10 and the winner of each quad earns $30.
Rounds at 10:15   1   and  3:15

Players list
Aravind                     1899
Jim Johnston              1700
Holly MacRoberts       1643
Quinn Fredine            1515
Bird Thompson          1489
Miles Teng-Levy       1266
Annabelle Romero    1137
Kevin Zemko             1049
Jason Murray              1029
Jack Miller                    821
Sherlock Chen             unr.

Directions      The library is on Llano between Siringo and St Michael's.  Those travelling from Abq should exit I-25 on St Francis then go L at the 3rd light on Siringo.  Then go  R at the 2nd light onto Llano

Saturday, November 3, 2018

Action tournament on December 8th

Our next event is a  rated 5 round action chess tournament at the La Farge library, on Llano Street in Santa Fe.  Entry is $10.  5 rounds G/30;d5.  Cash prizes. IF there are enough entries we will have 2 sections.  Check in at 10.  Rounds at 10:15   11:30   (lunch)   1:15    2:30   and 3:45
Andrew Ackerman
Aravind A.
Tim Martinson
Jim Johnston
Nick Miller
Richard Ronan
Eric Johnston
Miles Teng Levy
Aryan Siravuri

Monday, September 10, 2018

Library Quad on October 6th

Our next tournament is a rated quad at the La Farge library in Santa Fe.  Players are divided into groups of 4 by rating and then play the other 3 in their quad.  3 rounds G/60;d5.  Rounds at 10:15    (lunch)    1    and 3:15.  Entry is $10.  1st in each quad wins $30.  To enter send me an email to             jdjohnston100@gmail      and then pay in the parking lot before the library opens at 10.

Players list 
Jim Johnston
Eric Johnston
Bird Thompson
Annabelle Romero
Alfredo Vigil

The library is on Llano  street between St Michaels and Siringo.  If you are coming from ABQ ....from the I-25 take the St. Francis exit.  At the 3rd light go L onto Siringo.  Then make a R at the 2nd light onto Llano.

Tuesday, August 7, 2018

La Tienda Open on September 8th

Our next event is a 4 round G/45 ;d5 rated tournament in Eldorado.  2 Sections  Open and U1600.  Rounds at  10   (lunch)   12:15    2   and   3:45.   Entry is $20 for all players.  Prizes:
Open  (b/12)             1st   $120        U1800     $80
U1600 (b/10)             1st  $100        U1400     $70
To enter send me an email to   and then pay at the door.  There is a late fee of $5 for those who show up without notice on the day.
You need to be a uscf member before you come.
Questions... call me at 469-4261
Player list 
Aravind  A                   1855
Jim Johnston                1731
Rob Gabriele                1555
Elonzo Santillanes        1480
Quinn Fredine              1377       
Eric Johnston                1352
Miles Teng Levy          1271
Max Gore-Perez             910

Directions   From SF go north on I-25.  Exit on 285 signed to Clines Corners.  Go R at the 2nd light.  Immediately you see the La Tienda mall on your L.  The performance space is in the building with a green roof in back of La Plancha restaurant

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Quick and Blitz on August 4th

Our next tournament will be at the Sabor Peruano restaurant in De Vargas Mall on August 4th.  We will play 5 rounds of G/15;d3 then 4 double rounds of G/5.  Cash prizes, based on entries, go to the best combined scores.  NOT rated.  Play even if your uscf has expired. Play 13 games and I promise that nobody's rating will go down.
Check in at 9:30.  Quick rounds at 9:45   10:30   11  11:45   (lunch) and 1.  Blitz rounds at   1:45   2:15   2:45 and 3:15
Entry is $10.  To enter send me an email to book your spot to    then pay at the door.
Rob Gabriele                   unr.   
Roberto Gonzales           unr.
Roger Coleman               unr.
Jack Miller                        821
Santiago Florencio           854
Colin Redman                1139
Elizabeth Cooper           1221
David Cogswell              1557
Mark Galassi                  1622
Jim Johnston                   1731

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Action tournament on July 14th

Our next event is a 5 round tourney G/30 ;d5 at the Sabor Peruano restaurant in the De Vargas Mall.  Entry is $10 and there will be cash prizes based on entries.  Check in at  9:30.  Rounds at 9:45   11       (lunch)   1   2:15    and   3:30.  To enter send me an email  to     and then pay at the door.  Questions ? call   469-4261
Arun Jose                   1886
Tim Martinson           1808
Aravind  A                 1795
Jim Johnston              1746
Jonathan Gardner       1662
Miles Teng-Levy        1276
Munaga  Gaganasree     343
Susheer Paladugu         293
Saharsh Cheppalli         239
Charvisri Midthana      Unr.

Monday, May 14, 2018

Quad on June 2nd

Our next event is a quad at the southside library.  Play 3 rounds G/60;d5.  Each group of 4 players plays a round robin.  Check in by 10:30.  Rounds at 10:40 (lunch)  1:20  and 3:30.  Entry is $10 and the winner of each quad gets $30.
From downtown go way down Cerrillos then R on Jaguar Drive.  Stay on it for 2 miles when you go R on Country Club Road.  From Abq. take I-25 N and exit on the 599 toward Los Alamos.  At the 2nd light go R on Airport then another R on Country Club just past the golf course

Blog Archive